Quartiere Coppedè


A few hundred meters from Villa Borghese Guest House tere is one of the most fascinating areas of Rome, the Coppedè District.
It is named by the Florentine architect Gino Coppedè who designed it around 1915 and and followed its construction until his death in 1927
This area is one of the best examples of Italian architecture of the beginning of XX century architecture.
The entrance to the neighborhood is located in Via Dora and is characterized by a large arch with a wrought iron chandelier.
The district consists of 18 buildings and 27 cottages and other buildings. It is built around Piazza Mincio and the Fontana delle Rane (Fountain of the Frogs).
The whole area is characterized by an almost magical atmosphere, not surprisingly three cottages are named Villini delle Fate (Cottages of Fairies).
Numerous filmmakers have filmed scenes of their films in the Coppedè District. Among all goes quoted Dario Argento, who set two of his most famous films, L'Uccello dalle Piume di Cristallo (The Bird with the Crystal Plumage) and Inferno (Hell).